“These are a few of my favorite things…”

May 5, 2011

Blogging about coral reef conservation over the past 16 weeks has taught me so much about advocacy and how what one person can do can make a statement. With the advances in technology, it is now possible to reach out into the public sphere and let your ideas spread. Advocating for this important issue has made me feel a sense of empowerment. I have educated many people about this issue and plan to continue doing so even if I don’t blog as often (considering the project is over). Overall, this has been a great experience for me to embark upon.  Now, there are many things that I talked about this semester and if Oprah can do a favorites themed episode, so can I! In a blog format of course.

I honestly have to agree with the readers and say that my favorite blog posts had to do with the fusing together of art and science. I’m referring to the Hyperbolic Crochet Coral Reef Project and the Ceramic Reef Installation. I also had a very enjoyable moment when I created a twitter for SaveReef. My goal was to get twenty followers and as of a few weeks ago, that goal has been met! Also more people than were expected showed up to my Wraps for Reefs event (considering it was Easter weekend) so that was exciting and proves that every little bit of fundraising or chance to spread awareness counts!

But with all of the research I did about the new initiatives and news in the realm of coral reef conservation,  I feel like the semester can be summed up pretty nicely with a photo collage to represent all of the blog posts I have written over the past several weeks. So enjoy the blog and remember to never forget about the reefs!

Blog Collage

Leave a Reply

